Two Lady Clippers chosen to Class 1A All-State Basketball team


AMBOY – Two Amboy Lady Clipper basketball players were recognized with post-season honors by being chosen to the Illinois Associated Press Class 1A All-State girls’ basketball team as voted on by a statewide panel of sports writers and broadcasters and compiled by Steve Tappa, formerly of the Moline Dispatch and the Rock Island Argus.

Senior Mallory Powers was one of six players to be chosen to the Class 1A First Team, while classmate Abi Payne was one of six players selected to the Second Team.

Players received five points for a first-team vote and three points for a second-team vote. 

Each voter picked a five-player first team and five-player second team in each class. A player must have been named on two ballots to receive honorable mention. 

All media members in the state were eligible to nominate and vote for players. There were 18 voters in each class.

(*Note: There was a voting tie for the final first and second team spots in 1A.)


Anna Griffin, Aurora Christian (6-1, Sr., G/F) 79, Amiah Hargrove, Christopher (6-2, Fr., F) 70, Tayler Barry, Shiloh Tri-County (5-6, Sr., G) 66, Brooke Heiman, Indian Creek (5-9, Sr., PG) 55, * Mallory Powers, Amboy (5-11, Sr., G/F) 54, and * Tiana Timpe, Stockton (6-0, Sr., G) 54


Haley Wallace, Brimfield (5-8, Sr., G) 47, Grace Nelson, Altamont (5-9, Fr., PG) 44, Abi Payne, Amboy (5-9, Sr., PG) 32, Karlie Krogman, Lanark Eastland (5-10, Sr., F) 27, * Addison Newbon, Decatur St. Teresa (5-9, Sr., SG) 23, and * Tabytha Toelke, Dakota (6-0, Sr., G) 23