Clippers advance to the playoffs in 8-Man Football, will face Freeport Aquin Oct 30


AMBOY – The Amboy-LaMoille-Ohio Clippers will participate in the 8-man football playoffs after finishing the season with a 5-4 record. The Clippers romped over Alden-Hebron, 46-8, on Oct. 22 to get their fifth win.

There will be 16 teams in the 8-man playoffs. Amboy received the 10th seed and will travel to seventh-seeded Freeport Aquin (6-3) on Saturday, Oct. 30 for a 1 p.m. kickoff. The winner of that game will advance to play the winner of a first-round match-up between second-seeded Milledgeville (8-1) and 15th-seeded Bushnell-Prairie City (4-5).

The Clippers are led by versatile quarterback Tucker Lindenmeyer. He can hand the ball off to runners Jordan Gulley, Joe Quest, Dylan Daniels or Kye Koch, and can also move the ball with the passing attack.

Freeport Aquin comes into the game having dropped two of its last three contests to 8-man powers Milledgeville and Polo. Two of Amboy’s four losses also came to the Missiles and the Marcos.

Aquin is led on offense by quarterback Aiden Wolfe.

In the 8-man playoffs, the top eight teams will host first-round games. The second- and third-round games follow the same process as the IHSA. Second-round games will be hosted by the higher seed unless they are playing someone who has not hosted. If both teams have hosted, the higher seed will then again host.

The championship game will be played on Friday, Nov. 19 at 7 p.m. at Monmouth College.

First Round

#16 Sciota West Prairie (4-5) at #1 Polo (9-0)

#9 Pawnee (6-3) at #8 Milford-Cissna Park (6-3)

#13 Decatur LSA (5-4) at #4 West Central (7-2)

#12 South Beloit (5-4) at #5 Flanagan-Cornell-Woodland (7-2)

#15 Bushnell-Prairie City (4-5) at #2 Milledgeville (8-1)

#10 Amboy-LaMoille-Ohio (5-4) at #7 Freeport Aquin (6-3), Saturday, Oct. 30, 1 p.m.

#14 Kirkland Hiawatha (4-5) at #3 Orangeville (8-1)

#11 Champaign St. Thomas More (5-4) at #6 Martinsville (7-2)