Amboy boys take first place at Regionals, girls bring home third


PERU – The Amboy boys’ and girls’ cross country teams advanced to the Oregon Sectional after they competed in the St. Bede Class 1A Regional on Oct. 23.

The Clippers claimed the regional team title with 34 points. Other advancing teams were Sandwich (44), Seneca (115), Bureau Valley (151), Henry-Senachwine (154), Mendota (156) and Kewanee (164). The rest of the scoring teams included St. Bede (182), Princeton (201), Kewanee Wethersfield (222) and Oneida ROWVA (248).

In addition to the team championship, Amboy also had the individual champion as senior Brock Loftus finished ahead of the rest of the pack with a winning time of 15:07.5. Teammate Kyler McNinch wasn’t far back in second place overall with a time of 15:44, while Ian Eller took the fourth position with a clocking of 15:52.

Other Clippers helping the team to the title were Charlie Dickinson (11th, 16:37.2), Wyatt Lundquist (16th, 17:04.5), Andruw Jones (27th, 17:40.2) and Kelton Schwamberger (30th, 17:46.6.)

In the girls’ race, the Lady Clippers qualified for the sectional by virtue of their third-place team finish. They scored 130 points, with champion Seneca (38) and Sandwich (78) the only teams placing ahead of Amboy. Other sectional qualifying teams were Stark County (136), Princeton (143), Henry-Senachwine (143) and Oneida ROWVA (153). Ottawa Marquette (157), St. Bede (158) and Bureau Valley (194) completed the team standings.

Amboy’s best finisher was senior Lauren Althaus, who finished in 10th place overall with a time of 19:53.1. Next to complete the race for the Lady Clippers was Elly Jones in 18th place with a time of 20:53.1. 

Rounding out the Amboy lineup were Bailey Ellis (37th, 23:04.9), Addison Pertell (42nd, 23:09.7) and Natalie Pratt (47th, 24:12.3).

Evelyn O’Conner of Seneca, a freshman, was the individual champion with a time of 18:19.9.

The Oregon Sectional will be held at Oregon Park West on Saturday, Oct. 30. The girls will race at 10 a.m. followed by the boys at 11 a.m.