Lady Clipper runners dominate Erie Panther Invite


AMBOY — The Amboy-LaMoille girls’ cross country team continued its dominance by easily winning the Erie Panther Invitational on Oct. 3 at Lake Erie Country Club.

It was the third straight championship for A-L and the fourth in the past five years. Lady Clipper runner Margaret Vaessen was the overall champion with a time of 21:08.

This is the fifth year in a row an A-L runner has finished first, with Megan Grady doing it the four previous seasons.

Kaitlyn Ortgiesen was next in for the Lady Clippers and second overall with a clocking of 21:15, while Kelynn Boyle (21:52) and Cassidy Corcoran (22:03) placed fifth and sixth, respectively. Also competing for A-L were Macy Mershon (20th, 24:11) and Ally Gascoigne (31st, 25:48). There were 12 schools and 59 runners in the meet.

The Lady Clippers had 28 points to secure the number one position. Next in the standings was Erie-Prophetstown with 71 points, followed by Orion (73), Newman (97), Princeton (105) and Rockridge (107). There were 82 competitors in the boys’ race, and Amboy-LaMoille’s Tom Stamberger finished in fifth place overall with a time of 17:31. Other Clipper participants included Tom Molln (24th, 19:22) and Calvin Deering (57th, 22:12).


Schools from all over the state converged on Shady Oaks Country Club for the Amboy Columbus Day Invitational on Oct. 9. A total of 43 teams were entered in the girls’ and boys’ varsity races.

In the girls’ competition, the Lady Clippers did themselves proud by placing sixth in the team standings with 204 points. The top five teams included Rock Falls (61), Monticello (82), Kankakee Bishop McNamara (134), Johnsburg (150) and Elwood-Brimfield (181). Completing the top 10 were Tremont (214), El Paso-Gridley (224), Sandwich (242) and Bureau Valley (267).

There were 207 individual runners and A-L’s Vaessen finished 23rd with a time of 20:09. Crossing the finish line next for the Lady Clippers was Corcoran in 33rd place with a time of 20:26, followed by Boyle in 46th at 21:00 and Ashley Althaus in 50th at 21:12. Rounding out the A-L lineup were Ortgiesen (79th, 21:58), Mershon (114th, 23:08) and Gascoigne (120th, 23:21).

A total of 177 runners traversed the course in the varsity boys’ race, and Amboy-LaMoille’s Molln finished 88th in a time of 18:25. Elmwood-Brimfield captured the team title with 68 points, followed by Monticello (92), Tremont (123), Seneca (125) and Sterling Newman (165).

There were 17 teams and 114 runners in the freshman-sophomore event. Deering was the lone competitor for the Clippers, finishing 90th in a time of 17:42. El Paso-Gridley won the team title with 48 points and Fieldcrest (57) was second.