Clippers cross country teams head to Sectionals in Oregon

SENECA – The Amboy-LaMoille cross country teams kept their seasons alive after participating in the Seneca Class 1A Regional on Oct. 26.

The Clipper boys finished second in the team standings with 77 points behind only regional champion Aurora Central Catholic, which tallied 30 points. Those two teams will advance to the sectional along with Peru St. Bede (97), Princeton (138), Spring Valley Hall (149) and Henry-Senachwine (180). Other scoring teams were Mendota (214) and Elgin St. Edward (219).

Brock Loftus led the way for the Clippers with a second-place finish in a time of 17:24.88. Also placing in the top 10 were Kyler McNinch, seventh place in a time of 18:17.89, and Ian Eller, ninth place in a time of 18:18.33.

Other runners for the A-L boys were Andruw Jones (35th, 20:00.21), Ryan Dickinson (42nd, 20:20.85), Wyatt Lundquist (44th, 20:22.26) and Calvin Deering (47th, 20:26.90).

Lucas Hoffman of Ottawa Marquette won the overall championship in a time of 17:10.72.

In the girls’ race, the Lady Clippers qualified for the sectional with a fourth-place team finish with 67 points. The top three teams were Aurora Rosary (22), Aurora Central Catholic (56) and Seneca (87). Princeton (120) and Elgin St. Edward (132) also advanced to the sectional.

Leading the pack among the Lady Clipper runners was Margaret Vaessen, who came in seventh with a time of 21:27.38. Lauren Althaus checked in next in 21st place at 22:24.89, while Bailey Crouch was 30th in a time of 22:56.64. Sidney Corcoran (38th, 24:34.72), Emma Lundquist (40th, 24:34.99) and Lauren Tarr (47th, 26:22.30) rounded out the A-L lineup.

Lianna Surtz of Aurora Rosary raced to the individual title with a time of 18:04.65.

The Amboy-LaMoille boys and girls will now participate in the Oregon Class 1A Sectional on Saturday, Nov. 2 at the Oregon Park West course. The girls will race at 10 a.m. and the boys will compete at 11 a.m.

The top five teams in both races and the top seven runners who are not members of the first five placing teams will move on to the IHSA State Meet on Saturday, Nov. 9 at Detweiler Park in Peoria.


Video News
More In Sports